Announcing Speculative Fiction 2013: Contributors & Cover Reveal

Hello, fellow speculative fiction lovers! We have some exciting news to share with you.

As you may know, we are the editors of the 2013 edition of Speculative Fiction: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary – a collection that celebrates the best in online Science Fiction and Fantasy non-fiction.

After a year of submissions and countless hours combing over all the reviews, essays and commentary on the internets, we are very pleased to unveil the official cover, and announce our final list of contributors!

Speculative Fiction 2013

Cover art design by Sarah Anne Langton

Speculative Fiction 2013 collects over fifty truly awesome pieces from all corners of speculative fiction fandom – from book criticism to incisive commentary on important issues like sexual harassment at conventions; from feminist themes in summer blockbusters to life-changing video games; from the merits of grittiness and the downfalls of grimdark. The full list of contributors is outlined below!

Finally, we are thrilled to announce that this year’s edition features a foreword from John W. Campbell award-winning writer Seanan McGuire. Seanan is the author of the Toby Daye urban fantasy series, and, under pseudonym Mira Grant, the Newsflesh trilogy and Parasite. She’s also a Hugo Award-winning podcaster, and a prolific blogger – making her the perfect person to introduce this year’s edition of SpecFic.

We hope you’re as excited about SpecFic 13 as we are!

SpecFic ’13 Contributors

SpecFic’ 13 will be released in April 2014 and all profits from sales will be donated to Room to Read.

ISBN (ebook): 978-0-9928172-6-8
ISBN (POD): 978-0-9928172-7-5

9 Responses to “Announcing Speculative Fiction 2013: Contributors & Cover Reveal”

  1. Paul Weimer February 24, 2014 at 5:57 am #

    That’s quite a lineup!

  2. Ana February 24, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    Thank you! It is a pleasure and a honor that all of these amazing folks got on-board of this project.

  3. Bibliotropic February 24, 2014 at 6:18 am #

    Impressive! Looking forward to it!

  4. Justin Landon February 24, 2014 at 7:31 am #

    Yay! Excited to see it public. I’m going to need some more !!! after my name, kthx.

  5. Thea February 24, 2014 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks for the love, everyone. This was an amazing year in SFF online fandom, and we hope you’ll enjoy the articles and voices we selected!

    Justin, you get all the !!!11!1!


  6. Carrie Sessarego February 24, 2014 at 10:45 am #

    I’m so thrilled to be part of this! I’m looking at the list of contributors and I feel like a newbie actress at the Oscars who is seated next to Meryl Streep. I can’t wait to read all the entries!

  7. JARED SHURIN February 24, 2014 at 1:16 pm #


  8. Aidan Moher, editor of A Dribble of Ink February 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    Fantastic line-up! Can’t wait to read it cover-to-cover.

  9. Megan February 24, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    CUTE ROBOT, WANT TO HUG IT. Really excited for this! Lots of awesome names on that list!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.